Author Topic: Possible Regulator / Rectifier upgrade.  (Read 5116 times)

Offline rt66john

• XH Rider XXXX
Possible Regulator / Rectifier upgrade.
« on: November 02, 2015, 04:09:48 PM »
Before I go any further:  I am not an electrical engineer, electronics wizard, automotive designer, etc.  I'm just a guy who stumbled around outside the box and bumped into a possible improvement.

Many here have had to replace a stator during their time with an X.  Some have replaced more than one.  Others have gone very long periods of time / lots of miles with the original.  I recently replaced mine at 75xx miles.

Efforts by many in our family to lengthen the life of our stators revolved around removing heat from the stator.  Fan forced oil coolers, full synthetic oil, reducing alternator load, richer tune to keep overall engine temps down, and even the controversial removal of a restrictive orifice were all good efforts by good people who were just trying to keep our bikes healthy after the factory closed.

After getting a replacement stator from Atlantic EH, I set about finding someone to rewind the burned out one, since Marty didn't ask for it as a core.  During my travels on the Interwebs, I discovered a couple of things.  First, it seems our alternators are very similar to, if not exactly like the alternators used in Triumph 995 triples from the same era.  This kind of makes sense, seeing as many of the electronic bits on our bikes were also on Triumphs.  Second, many of these Triumphs were having regulator failures, or a burned up connector between the stator and regulator.

I happened across this thread on a Triumph forum concerning upgrading the R/R unit to something with more modern technology. http://www.triumphrat.net/speed-triple-forum/104504-charging-system-diagnostics-rectifier-regulator-upgrade.html  The original thread is from 2009 but the owner, DEcosse, has updated it throughout the years as he's found even newer technology.  I'll summarize below.